The New British Royalty and the Indian Connection!

True to the Royal Legacies the birth of the British Royalty was awaited with much eagerness and bated breath not in Great Britain alone but all over the world by the ones who still hold and follow the Royal Legacies with much interest and respect. The new born as per the royal communique has been christened as Prince George Alexander Louis of Cambridge. Henceforth he will be known as “His Royal Highness Prince George of Cambridge”.

There already have been 6 Royal British Monarchs named as George, the last being Queen’s Father George the 6th.

Louis happens also to be a popular name amongst the British Royalties. One of them was India’s Last Viceroy and the 1st Governor General of Independent Union of India, Admiral of the Fleet Louis Francis Albert Victor Nicholas Mountbatten, 1st Earl Mountbatten of Burma.

The British Crown took over India undivided from the British East India Company in 1858 after the India’s First War of Independence or also known as the Sepoy Mutiny of 1857 and the dissolution of the Company itself. On 1st of May 1876 the Queen Victoria became the Empress of India and was proclaimed such in the Delhi Durbar of 1877.

When Victoria the Empress of India died her son Edward VII ascended the throne as “Emperor of India”. The title continued after India became independent on 15 August 1947 and was not formally abandoned until 22 June 1948 under George VI, although the British monarch continued to be the King of India until it became a republic in 1950.

The Emperors and Empress of India until India’s independence from The British were as under:





Queen Empress Victoria

1 May 1876

22 January 1901

House of Hanover

King Emperor Edward VII

22 January 1901

6 May 1910

House of Saxe-Coburg & Gotha

King-Emperor George V

6 May 1910

20 January 1936

House of Windsor

King-Emperor Edward VIII

20 January 1936

11 December 1936

House of Windsor

King-Emperor George VI

11 December 1936

15 August 1947

House of Windsor

The Emperor of India was a Title the Last Mughal Emperor Bahadur Shah II used after 1857 as given by the sepoys who thought to over through the reign of East India Company. They proclaimed hi the Badishah-e-Hind, or Emperor of India. The Mughals, who ruled very massive area of India, but never called themselves as Emperors. They used the title Badishah which meant Great King or King of Kings which was similar to Emperor and since the Geographical Demarcation of their dominion wasn’t obvious hence the titles never indicated the area of their suzerainty.

Prince George Alexander Louis of Cambridge

Prince George Alexander Louis of Cambridge & the Indian Connection!
image courtesy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>